Tag Archives: Club

Nicholas Delgass is the Winner of the 2013 Herman Pines Award in Catalysis

The Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go is pleased to announce that Prof. W. Nicholas Del­gass (Max­ine Spencer Nichols Emer­i­tus Pro­fes­sor of Chem­i­cal Engi­neer­ing at Pur­due Uni­ver­si­ty) is the recip­i­ent of the 2013 Her­man Pines Award in Catal­y­sis. This Award is giv­en to rec­og­nize Prof. Del­gass’ out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tions to cat­a­lyst char­ac­ter­i­za­tion, reac­tion and cat­a­lyst chem­istry, and advanced cat­a­lyst design. Prof. Del­gass first intro­duced the appli­ca­tions of Möss­bauer spec­tra and XPS to the catal­y­sis com­mu­ni­ty.

Prof. Del­gass has served on the edi­to­r­i­al boards of lead­ing catal­y­sis jour­nals such as Jour­nal of Catal­y­sis and as chairs for inter­na­tion­al catal­y­sis con­fer­ences. He is a gift­ed teacher, win­ning the Pur­due School of Chem­i­cal Engi­neer­ing Teach­ing Award­ing for sev­en times. Prof. Del­gass has been invit­ed to give more than 190 lec­tures on nation­al and inter­na­tion­al sci­en­tif­ic meet­ings. He has pub­lished over 160 pub­li­ca­tions.

The award includes an hon­o­rar­i­um ($1,000) and a plaque. Prof. Del­gass will receive this Award dur­ing the Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go Spring Sym­po­sium on May 7, 2013 at BP Research Cen­ter (Naperville, IL). Prof. Del­gass will deliv­er the Award address at the Sym­po­sium.
Pre­vi­ous recip­i­ents of the Her­man Pines Award
1999 Harold Kung (North­west­ern Uni­ver­si­ty)
2000 John Mon­nier (East­man Chem­i­cal)
2001 Lan­ny Schmidt (Uni­ver­si­ty of Min­neso­ta)
2002 James Brazdil (BP)
2003 James Dumesic (Uni­ver­si­ty of Wis­con­sin)
2004 Alak Bhat­tacharyya (BP)
2005 Israel Wachs (Lehigh Uni­ver­si­ty)
2006 Jef­frey Miller (BP)
2007 Chun­shan Song (Penn­syl­va­nia State Uni­ver­si­ty)
2008 Alek­sey Yez­erets (Cum­mins)
2009 Tobin Marks (North­west­ern Uni­ver­si­ty)
2010 James Rekoske (UOP)
2011 Jing­guang Chen (Uni­ver­si­ty Delaware)
2012 Stu­art Soled (Exxon­Mo­bil)

2013 SWCS Spring Symposium

The Spring Sym­po­sium for the South­west Catal­y­sis Soci­ety will be help on April 26th on the Rice cam­pus (Grand Hall in the Memo­r­i­al Cen­ter). The cir­cu­lar is attached. Reg­is­tra­tion will begin at 7:30 AM with the tech­ni­cal pro­gram begin­ning at 8:25. We antic­i­pate the meet­ing con­clud­ing by 3:30 PM. There is plen­ty of park­ing on the Rice cam­pus: rice.edu/maps/maps.html.

There’s vis­i­tor park­ing all over cam­pus (shad­ed yel­low), and the one lot clos­est to our meet­ing site is “Cen­tral Cam­pus Garage” under­neath the Jones Busi­ness School (#51).


Fri­day, April 26th, 2013
Grand Hall of the Rice Memo­r­i­al Cen­ter
Rice Uni­ver­si­ty
Hous­ton, TX

Invited Speakers (alphabetical order)

Devel­op­ing HDS under­stand­ing based on real feed-stocks
Tushar V. Choud­hary, Phillips 66, Bartlesville, OK
From Hydrodesul­fu­r­iza­tion to Hydrodeoxy­gena­tion: What are the sim­i­lar­i­ties at the atom­ic-scale?
Lars C. Grabow, Uni­ver­si­ty of Hous­ton, TX
Shell Alter­na­tive Trans­port Fuels,
Kim John­son, Shell Chem­i­cal Co., Hous­ton, TX
Advances in Hydropro­cess­ing Cat­a­lyst Tech­nol­o­gy: The Dis­cov­ery of ExxonMobil/Albemarle’s Neb­u­la Cat­a­lyst
Doron Levin, Exxon­Mo­bil, Annan­dale, NJ
Nanos­truc­tured Gold Mod­el Cat­a­lysts on Oxy­gen-free Sub­strates
Li Liu, Depart­ment of Chem­istry, Texas A&M Uni­ver­si­ty
Nat­ur­al Gas to Syn­gas using Rh-sub­sti­tut­ed pyrochlore (La2Zr2O7) cat­a­lysts
Jer­ry Spivey (LSU), D. Pakhare (LSU), D. Haynes (DoE/NETL), D. Shekhawat (DoE/NETL), V. Abdel­sayed (DoE/NETL)
2013 South­west Catal­y­sis Soci­ety Applied Catal­y­sis Awardee: Prof. Jer­ry Spivey, Depart­ment of Chem­i­cal Engi­neer­ing, LSU, Baton Rouge, LA.