The Robert Burwell Lectureship in Catalysis

Dead­line for nom­i­na­tions is 22 January 2021

Robert L. Burwell, Jr.

Robert L. Burwell, Jr.

The Robert Burwell Lectureship in Catalysis is sponsored by Johnson Matthey and administered by The North American Catalysis Society. It is to be awarded biennially in odd-numbered years. The award consists of a plaque and an honorarium of $5,000. An additional $4,500 is available to cover travelling expenses in North America. The awardee is expected to lecture at many of the local catalysis clubs.

The award is given in recognition of substantial contributions to one or more areas in the field of catalysis with emphasis on discovery and understanding of catalytic phenomena, catalytic reaction mechanisms and identification and description of catalytic sites and species. The Awardee will be selected on the basis of his/her contributions to the catalytic literature and the current timeliness of these research contributions. The recipient may be invited to (1) visit and lecture to each of the affiliated Clubs/Societies with which mutually satisfactory arrangements can be made and (2) prepare a review paper(s) for publication covering these lectures. Publication will be in an appropriate periodical.

Selection of the Award winner will be made by a committee of renowned scientists and engineers appointed by the President of The North American Catalysis Society. Selection shall be made without regard for age, sex, nationality or affiliation. Posthumous awards will be made only when knowledge of the awardee’s death is received after announcement of the Award Committee’s decision.

The nomination materials should describe clearly, specifically, and concisely the nominee’s qualifications and accomplishments in the context of the specific award.

These materials should include the following documents (submitted as a single PDF file and not exceeding the indicated length): (i) a nomination letter (1000 words); (ii) two supporting letters (800 words each); (iii) a narrative biographical note (500 words); and (iv) a curriculum vitae, including relevant positions and recognitions and a list of publications and patents.

The nomination and supporting letters should be specific to the year and to the name of the award.

Nomination packages for the Award must be received by 22 January 2021 in one complete package. All nomination packages (one ELECTRONIC COPY) for the Burwell Award should be sent to Jingguang Chen, President, North American Catalysis Society at Receipt of any nomination, will be confirmed by an email message sent to any nominator.

Previous Award Winners

  • 1983 Robert L. Burwell
  • 1985 Wolfgang M. H. Sachtler
  • 1987 John B. Peri
  • 1989 Jack H. Lunsford
  • 1991 Kamil Klier
  • 1993 Werner O. Haag
  • 1995 Gary Haller
  • 1997 Wayne Goodman
  • 1999 Harold Kung
  • 2001 Tobin Marks
  • 2003 Alexis T. Bell
  • 2005 Enrique Iglesia
  • 2007 James Dumesic
  • 2009 Bruce Gates
  • 2011 Johannes A. Lercher
  • 2013 Charles Campbell
  • 2015 Matt Neurock
  • 2017 Jingguang Chen
  • 2019 Abhaya Datye