American Chemical Society National Awards for 2012

The North Amer­i­can Catal­y­sis Soci­ety con­grat­u­lates three of our mem­bers that have been rec­og­nized with sig­nif­i­cant Amer­i­can Chem­i­cal Soci­ety Nation­al Awards for 2012. The award recip­i­ents are Dr. Thomas F. Deg­nan Jr, Exxon­Mo­bil, Pro­fes­sor James A. Dumesic Uni­ver­si­ty of Wis­con­sin, Madi­son, and Pro­fes­sor Enrique Igle­sia, Uni­ver­si­ty of Cal­i­for­nia, Berke­ley. Dr. Deg­nan has been named as win­ner of the 2012 ACS Award in Indus­tri­al Chem­istry spon­sored by the ACS Divi­sion of Busi­ness Devel­op­ment & Man­age­ment and the ACS Divi­sion of Indus­tri­al and Engi­neer­ing Chem­istry. Pro­fes­sor Dumesic has been named win­ner of the 2012 George A. Olah Award in Hydro­car­bon or Petro­le­um Chem­istry spon­sored by the George A. Olah Award Endow­ment. Pro­fes­sor Igle­sia has been named win­ner of the 2012 Gabor A. Somor­jai Award for Cre­ative Research in Catal­y­sis spon­sored by the Gabor A. and Judith K. Somor­jai Endow­ment Fund. All three recip­i­ents will be hon­ored at an Awards Cer­e­mo­ny on March 27, 2012 held in con­junc­tion with the 243rd ACS Nation­al Meet­ing in San Diego, CA.
Bruce Cook
Vice Pres­i­dent, North Amer­i­can Catal­y­sis Soci­ety