Dr. Stuart Soled is the Winner of the 2012 Herman Pines Award in Catalysis

Stu­art Soled

The Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go is pleased to announce that Dr. Stu­art L. Soled (Exxon­Mo­bil Research and Engi­neer­ing Co.) is the recip­i­ent of the 2012 Her­man Pines Award in Catal­y­sis. This Award is giv­en to rec­og­nize Dr. Soled’s out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tions to the syn­the­sis, struc­tur­al and func­tion­al char­ac­ter­i­za­tion, and com­mer­cial­iza­tion of nov­el cat­alyt­ic mate­ri­als. Stu’s research has led to the dis­cov­ery and suc­cess­ful devel­op­ment and com­mer­cial­iza­tion of sev­er­al cat­a­lyst tech­nolo­gies, includ­ing nanos­truc­tured met­al oxide/metal sul­fide bul
  • k hydropro­cess­ing cat­a­lysts for the pro­duc­tion of ultralow sul­fur diesel, dis­persed met­al oxides/sulfides for the pro­duc­tion of clean and high octane gaso­line, sup­port­ed met­als cat­a­lysts for poten­tial appli­ca­tions in chem­i­cal inter­me­di­ates syn­the­sis and syn­fu­els, and sol­id acids cat­a­lysts.

    Stu has served on the edi­to­r­i­al boards of lead­ing catal­y­sis jour­nals and as chairs for catal­y­sis con­fer­ences. He is an excel­lent teacher men­tor­ing the next gen­er­a­tion of dis­tin­guished sci­en­tists and tech­ni­cal staff. Stu has been invit­ed to give lec­tures on nation­al and inter­na­tion­al sci­en­tif­ic meet­ings. He has pub­lished 100 patents and over 70 pub­li­ca­tions.

    The award includes an hon­o­rar­i­um ($1,000) and a plaque. Dr. Soled will receive this Award dur­ing the Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go Spring Sym­po­sium on May 15, 2012 at BP Research Cen­ter (Naperville, IL). Dr. Soled will deliv­er the Award address at the Sym­po­sium.

    Past recipients of the Herman Pines Award

    • 1999 Harold Kung, North­west­ern Uni­ver­si­ty
    • 2000 John Mon­nier, East­man Chem­i­cal
    • 2001 Lan­ny Schmidt, Uni­ver­si­ty of Min­neso­ta
    • 2002 James Brazdil, BP
    • 2003 James Dumesic, Uni­ver­si­ty of Wis­con­sin
    • 2004 Alak Bhat­tacharyya, BP
    • 2005 Israel Wachs, Lehigh Uni­ver­si­ty
    • 2006 Jef­frey Miller, BP
    • 2007 Chun­shan Song, Penn­syl­va­nia State Uni­ver­si­ty
  • 2008 Alek­sey Yez­erets, Cum­mins
  • 2009 Tobin Marks, North­west­ern Uni­ver­si­ty
  • 2010 James Rekoske, UOP
  • 2011 Jing­guang Chen, Uni­ver­si­ty Delaware