The F. G. Ciapetta Lectureship in Catalysis

Dead­line for nom­i­na­tions is 6‑No­vem­ber-2023
The F. G. Cia­pet­ta Lec­ture­ship in Catal­y­sis (pri­or to 1973 The Nation­al Lec­ture­ship) is spon­sored by the W.R. Grace & Co. and The North Amer­i­can Catal­y­sis Soci­ety. The Soci­ety admin­is­ters this Lec­ture­ship. It is to be award­ed bien­ni­al­ly in even num­bered years. The Award con­sists of a plaque and an hon­o­rar­i­um of $5,000. Trav­el expens­es are pro­vid­ed through a trav­el escrow fund, admin­is­tered by the NACS, to be used on a “as need­ed basis” for the recip­i­ents from acad­e­mia or indus­tri­al com­pa­nies (with $100 Mil­lion annu­al sales; up to $3,000. for employ­ees of larg­er com­pa­nies). The Award is giv­en in recog­ni­tion of sub­stan­tial con­tri­bu­tions to one or more areas in the field of catal­y­sis with empha­sis on indus­tri­al­ly sig­nif­i­cant cat­a­lysts and cat­alyt­ic process­es and the dis­cov­ery of new cat­alyt­ic reac­tions and sys­tems of poten­tial indus­tri­al impor­tance. The awardee will be select­ed on the basis of his/her con­tri­bu­tions to the cat­alyt­ic lit­er­a­ture and the cur­rent time­li­ness of these research con­tri­bu­tions. The recip­i­ent may be invit­ed to vis­it and lec­ture to each of the affil­i­at­ed Clubs/Societies with which mutu­al­ly sat­is­fac­to­ry arrange­ments can be made. Selec­tion of the awardee will be made with­out regard to age, sex, nation­al­i­ty, or affil­i­a­tion. The nom­i­na­tion mate­ri­als should describe clear­ly, specif­i­cal­ly, and con­cise­ly the nominee’s qual­i­fi­ca­tions and accom­plish­ments in the con­text of the spe­cif­ic award. These mate­ri­als should include the fol­low­ing doc­u­ments (sub­mit­ted as a sin­gle PDF file and not exceed­ing the indi­cat­ed length): (i) a nom­i­na­tion let­ter (1000 words); (ii) two sup­port­ing let­ters (800 words each); (iii) a nar­ra­tive bio­graph­i­cal note (500 words); and (iv) a cur­ricu­lum vitae, includ­ing rel­e­vant posi­tions and recog­ni­tions and a list of pub­li­ca­tions and patents. The nom­i­na­tion and sup­port­ing let­ters should be spe­cif­ic to the year and to the name of the award. Nom­i­na­tions for the Cia­pet­ta Award will close on 6‑No­vem­ber-2023. All nom­i­na­tion pack­ages for the Cia­pet­ta Award should be should be sent to Jing­guang Chen, Pres­i­dent, North Amer­i­can Catal­y­sis Soci­ety; at Receipt of any nom­i­na­tion will be con­firmed by an email mes­sage sent to any nom­i­na­tor.

Previous Award Winners

  • 1967 Jan H. deBoer
  • 1968 John Sin­felt
  • 1969 Stan­lis­las Teich­n­er
  • 1972 George C.A. Schuit
  • 1973 Jose J. Frip­i­at
  • 1974 Den­nis A. Dow­den
  • 1975 Pierre C. Grav­elle
  • 1976 Ger­hard Ertl
  • 1977 John R. Ander­son
  • 1986 Michel Boudart
  • 1988 James D. Idol
  • 1990 W. Kei­th Hall
  • 1992 R. van San­ten
  • 1994 John J. Rooney
  • 1996 George Koko­tai­lo
  • 1998 Aveli­no Cor­ma
  • 2000 Gary McVick­er
  • 2002 John Mon­nier
  • 2004 Dou­glas Stephan
  • 2006 Stu­art Soled
  • 2008 Robert Far­rauto
  • 2010 Jef­frey T. Miller
  • 2012 Thomas Deg­nan
  • 2014 Paul Barg­er
  • 2016 Ahmad Moi­ni
  • 2018 Teh Ho
  • 2020 Cong-Yan Chen
  • 2022 Sourav Sen­gup­ta