Eugene J. Houdry Award in Applied Catalysis

Dead­line for nom­i­na­tions is 22-July-2024

Eugene Houdry

Eugene Houdry

The Eugene J. Houdry Award in Applied Catal­y­sis is spon­sored by Clari­ant. It is admin­is­tered by The Catal­y­sis Soci­ety and is award­ed bien­ni­al­ly in odd num­bered years, gen­er­al­ly at the North Amer­i­can meet­ing of The Catal­y­sis Soci­ety, where the awardee will be asked to give a ple­nary lec­ture. The award con­sists of a plaque and a prize of $5,000. An addi­tion­al $1,000 is avail­able for oth­er­wise unre­im­bursed trav­el expens­es.

The pur­pose of the Award is to rec­og­nize and encour­age indi­vid­ual con­tri­bu­tions in the field of catal­y­sis with empha­sis on the devel­op­ment of new and improved cat­a­lysts and process­es rep­re­sent­ing out­stand­ing advances in their use­ful appli­ca­tion.

Selec­tion of the Award win­ner will be made by a com­mit­tee of renowned sci­en­tists and engi­neers appoint­ed by the Pres­i­dent of The North Amer­i­can Catal­y­sis Soci­ety. Selec­tion shall be made with­out regard for age, sex, nation­al­i­ty or affil­i­a­tion. Posthu­mous awards will be made only when knowl­edge of the awardee’s death is received after announce­ment of the Award Com­mit­tee’s deci­sion.

Nom­i­na­tions for the Award should be made before 22-July-2024. The nom­i­na­tion mate­ri­als should describe clear­ly, specif­i­cal­ly, and con­cise­ly the nominee’s qual­i­fi­ca­tions and accom­plish­ments in the con­text of the spe­cif­ic award.

These mate­ri­als should include the fol­low­ing doc­u­ments (sub­mit­ted as a sin­gle PDF file and not exceed­ing the indi­cat­ed length): (i) a nom­i­na­tion let­ter (1000 words); (ii) two sup­port­ing let­ters (800 words each); (iii) a nar­ra­tive bio­graph­i­cal note (500 words); and (iv) a cur­ricu­lum vitae, includ­ing rel­e­vant posi­tions and recog­ni­tions and a list of pub­li­ca­tions and patents.

The nom­i­na­tion and sup­port­ing let­ters should be spe­cif­ic to the year and to the name of the award.

Nom­i­na­tion doc­u­ments should be sub­mit­ted elec­tron­i­cal­ly to the Pres­i­dent of the Soci­ety in one com­plete pack­age along with no more than two sec­ond­ing let­ters. Nom­i­na­tion pack­ages for the Award must be received by 22-July-2024.

All nom­i­na­tion pack­ages (one ELECTRONIC COPY) for the Houdry Award should be sent to Jing­guang Chen, Pres­i­dent, North Amer­i­can Catal­y­sis Soci­ety at Receipt of any nom­i­na­tion, will be con­firmed by an email mes­sage sent to any nom­i­na­tor.

Previous Award Winners

  • 1971 Her­man S. Bloch
  • 1973 Charles J. Plank
  • 1975 Heinz Heine­mann
  • 1977 Vladimir Haensel
  • 1979 Adal­bert Farkas
  • 1981 Her­man Pines
  • 1983 Mil­ton Orchin
  • 1985 John W. Ward
  • 1987 Ralph J. Berto­laci­ni
  • 1989 Jule A. Rabo
  • 1991 James Roth
  • 1993 Wolf­gang M. H. Sachtler
  • 1995 Madan Bhasin
  • 1997 John Armor
  • 1999 Clarence Chang
  • 2001 Leo Manz­er
  • 2003 Aveli­no Cor­ma
  • 2005 Hen­rik Top­søe
  • 2007 Stacey Zones
  • 2009 Jef­frey Beck
  • 2011 James C. Stevens
  • 2013 Giuseppe Bel­lus­si
  • 2015 Anne Gaffney
  • 2017 Jef­fery Brick­er
  • 2019 Hai-Ying Chen
  • 2021 Deng-Yang (DY) Jan
  • 2023 Stephen R. Schmidt