The NACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Catalysis

Dead­line for nom­i­na­tions is 20-May-2024
The NACS Award for Dis­tin­guished Ser­vice in the Advance­ment of Catal­y­sis is joint­ly spon­sored by Exxon­Mo­bil Research and Engi­neer­ing and Clari­ant.

Pur­pose: To rec­og­nize an indi­vid­ual (every two years with a $5,000 prize) who advanced cat­alyt­ic chem­istry or engi­neer­ing by sig­nif­i­cant ser­vice to the catal­y­sis com­mu­ni­ty in addi­tion to tech­ni­cal accom­plish­ments. Trav­el costs are pro­vid­ed to the meet­ing where the award is pre­sent­ed.

Rules of Eli­gi­bil­i­ty: A nom­i­nee must have demon­strat­ed exten­sive con­tri­bu­tions to the advance­ment of catal­y­sis dur­ing their career. Ser­vice activ­i­ties rec­og­nized by the award may include roles such as teach­ing, men­tor­ing, writ­ing, edit­ing, and lead­er­ship of meet­ings or orga­ni­za­tions. An awardee must have made these con­tri­bu­tions to the ben­e­fit of the North Amer­i­can catal­y­sis com­mu­ni­ty.

The nom­i­na­tion mate­ri­als should describe clear­ly, specif­i­cal­ly, and con­cise­ly the nominee’s qual­i­fi­ca­tions and accom­plish­ments in the con­text of the spe­cif­ic award.

These mate­ri­als should include the fol­low­ing doc­u­ments (sub­mit­ted as a sin­gle PDF file and not exceed­ing the indi­cat­ed length): (i) a nom­i­na­tion let­ter (1000 words); (ii) two sup­port­ing let­ters (800 words each); (iii) a nar­ra­tive bio­graph­i­cal note (500 words); and (iv) a cur­ricu­lum vitae, includ­ing rel­e­vant posi­tions and recog­ni­tions and a list of pub­li­ca­tions and patents.

The nom­i­na­tion and sup­port­ing let­ters should be spe­cif­ic to the year and to the name of the award.

All nom­i­na­tion pack­ages (one elec­tron­ic copy) for the Ser­vice Award should be sent to Jing­guang Chen, Pres­i­dent, North Amer­i­can Catal­y­sis Soci­ety at Nom­i­na­tions for the 2025 Award will close by 20-May-2024. Receipt of any nom­i­na­tion, will be con­firmed by an email mes­sage sent to any nom­i­na­tor.

Previous Award Winners

  • 2010 W. Nicholas Del­gass
  • 2012 John Armor
  • 2014 Burtron H. Davis
  • 2016 Gary L. Haller
  • 2018 Alex­is T. Bell
  • 2021 Enrique Igle­sia
  • 2023 Stu­art Soled