Call for Nominations: AIChE Catalysis and Reaction Engineering Practice Award

This is a non-NACS Award, spon­sored by the AIChE. The AIChE is solic­it­ing nom­i­na­tions for the Catal­y­sis & Reac­tion Engi­neer­ing Divi­sion’s Prac­tice Award. Please see the attached for a descrip­tion of the award and details of the nom­i­na­tion process. Note that can­di­dates must be AIChE mem­bers. Address all inquiries to Kei­th Hutchen­son at


This award rec­og­nizes indi­vid­u­als who have made pio­neer­ing con­tri­bu­tions to indus­tri­al prac­tice of catal­y­sis and chem­i­cal reac­tion engi­neer­ing. The can­di­date must have made impor­tant and spe­cif­ic tech­ni­cal con­tri­bu­tions, ver­i­fi­able by means of well-doc­u­ment­ed evi­den­tial mate­ri­als, to the inven­tion, devel­op­ment, design or imple­men­ta­tion of indus­tri­al prod­ucts, cat­a­lysts or process­es through inge­nious and cre­ative appli­ca­tion of chem­i­cal reac­tion engi­neer­ing and/or catal­y­sis con­cepts. Awardees will be select­ed based on their con­tri­bu­tions to the dis­cov­ery and appli­ca­tion of inno­v­a­tive catal­y­sis or reac­tion engi­neer­ing solu­tions to tech­no­log­i­cal prob­lems, and/or com­mer­cial­iza­tion of new prod­ucts and process­es. Can­di­date must be an AIChE mem­ber. Can­di­dates may be from acad­e­mia, nation­al labs, or indus­try.


Sat­ur­day, 31-May-2008


Nom­i­na­tion pack­ages should include a 2‑page (max­i­mum) dou­ble spaced nom­i­na­tion state­ment, a 2‑page CV, and up to four sup­port­ing let­ters. Sub­mit the nom­i­na­tion elec­tron­i­cal­ly via email to the CRE Divi­sion Vice-Chair: Kei­th W. Hutchen­son, DuPont (, 302–695-1389).


A plaque and cash award of $1,000


The award is pre­sent­ed annu­al­ly at the Divi­sion Recep­tion or Din­ner. The recip­i­ent is also invit­ed to give a spe­cial lec­ture at the AIChE Annu­al Meet­ing.

Past Recipients

  • 2007 Car­mo Pereira
  • 2006 Lar­ry Smith
  • 2005 Robert Far­rauto
  • 2004 Stephen B. Jaffe
  • 2003 Israel Wachs
  • 2002 Teh C. Ho
  • 2001 Thomas R. Keane
  • 2000 L. Hege­dus