Election Results for Director-at-Large

The elec­tron­ic elec­tion for six Direc­tor-at-Large posi­tions is now com­plete.

I am pleased to announce that the fol­low­ing indi­vid­u­als have been elect­ed to a four-year term as Direc­tor-at-Large from a slate of 13 can­di­dates:
• Jing­guang Chen (Colum­bia Uni­ver­si­ty)
• Jim Dumesic (Uni­ver­si­ty of Wis­con­sin)
• Maria Fly­tzani-Stephanopou­los (Tufts Uni­ver­si­ty)
• Bruce C. Gates (Uni­ver­si­ty of Cal­i­for­nia at Davis)
• Chris Jones (Geor­gia Insti­tute of Tech­nol­o­gy)
• Fabio H. Ribeiro (Pur­due Uni­ver­si­ty)
Con­tin­ue read­ing

Director-at-Large Elections

NACS2017_DAL_Elections 1
The elec­tion for Direc­tors-at-Large is sched­uled to start on March 8th, 2017 at 21:01 AM. The NACS will be using online bal­lot­ing as the only way to cast your vote. We have con­tract­ed with a firm that is expe­ri­enced in on-line vot­ing to ensure the accu­ra­cy and con­fi­den­tial­i­ty of the process.
Con­tin­ue read­ing

Announcement of the Tanabe Prize

The Acid Base Catal­y­sis Group here­by invites nom­i­na­tions for the Kozo Tan­abe Prize. The Kozo Tan­abe Prize for Acid Base Catal­y­sis is spon­sored by the Inter­na­tion­al Acid-Base Catal­y­sis (ABC) Group* and a select­ed pri­vate com­pa­ny. It hon­ors the lega­cy and accom­plish­ments of Pro­fes­sor Kozo Tan­abe, who pio­neered many of the mod­ern con­cepts in Cat­alyt­ic Chem­istry of acids and bases. The prize is admin­is­tered by the ABC Group* and will be pre­sent­ed at the 8th Inter­na­tion­al Sym­po­sium on Acid-Base Catal­y­sis (ABC‑8), to be held in May 2017 in Rio, Brazil. The award con­sists of a plaque, an hon­o­rar­i­um, and trav­el expens­es to attend the meet­ing and present a ple­nary lec­ture. The Tan­abe Prize rec­og­nizes sub­stan­tial con­tri­bu­tions to the field of acid and/or base catal­y­sis. It may be pre­sent­ed to an indi­vid­ual of any stage of her/his career for sig­nif­i­cant con­tri­bu­tions to the area with­in the ten years pre­ced­ing the date of the award. Self nom­i­na­tions are not accept­ed. The nom­i­na­tion pack­age must include the nom­i­na­tion sheet, a list of pub­li­ca­tions and patents (2007–2017), a list of ple­nary and keynote lec­tures, a cur­ricu­lum vitae and two let­ters of rec­om­men­da­tion. The nom­i­na­tion pack­ages should be sent via email as a sin­gle PDF file titled “Name of Nom­i­nee Tan­abe Prize Nom­i­na­tion 2017” no lat­er than March 17, 2017 to the Tan­abe Prize com­mit­tee**. (Coor­di­na­tor: David Jack­son, Uni­ver­si­ty of Glas­gow, Unit­ed King­dom, Email: david.jackson@glasgow.ac.uk).
Con­tin­ue read­ing

ABC Young Scientist Award

The Acid Base Catal­y­sis Group invites nom­i­na­tions for the ABC Young Sci­en­tist Award. The award will be giv­en to a sin­gle per­son who has made nov­el and promis­ing con­tri­bu­tions to the field of acid and/or base catal­y­sis and is less than 45 years old on May 7, 2017. The awardee will be invit­ed to present a lec­ture at the 8th Inter­na­tion­al Sym­po­sium on Acid-Base Catal­y­sis in Rio 2017.

Nom­i­na­tion pack­ages should include a nom­i­na­tion let­ter, a one-page CV, a one-page research high­light, a list of pub­li­ca­tions, two let­ters of rec­om­men­da­tion, and up to three elec­tron­ic reprints of rel­e­vant pub­li­ca­tions. Self-nom­i­na­tion is exclud­ed. The pack­age should con­sist of a sin­gle PDF file and should be sub­mit­ted per email no lat­er than March 17, 2017. Inquiries and nom­i­na­tion pack­ages should be direct­ed to the Pres­i­dent of the Acid Base Catal­y­sis Group, Takashi Tat­su­mi, Nation­al Insti­tute of Tech­nol­o­gy and Eval­u­a­tion, Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan.
Email: tatsumi-takashi@nite.go.jp; ttatsumi@cat.res.titech.ac.jp

Bruce Gates is the recipient of the 2017 Michel Boudart Award for Advances in Catalysis

We are pleased to announce that Pro­fes­sor Bruce Gates of the Uni­ver­si­ty of Cal­i­for­nia at Davis is the recip­i­ent of the 2017 Michel Boudart Award for Advances in Catal­y­sis. This award is spon­sored by the Hal­dor Top­søe Com­pa­ny and is admin­is­tered joint­ly by the North Amer­i­can Catal­y­sis Soci­ety and the Euro­pean Fed­er­a­tion of Catal­y­sis Soci­eties. The pre­sen­ta­tion to Pro­fes­sor Gates will be made at both the 25th North Amer­i­can Meet­ing of the Catal­y­sis Soci­ety (Den­ver, June 2017) and the Europacat XIII Meet­ing (Flo­rence, Italy, August 2017).
Con­tin­ue read­ing

In Memoriam: Wolfgang Sachtler (1924–2017)

Wolfgang SachtlerThe catal­y­sis com­mu­ni­ty mourns the loss of one of its for­ma­tive and most influ­en­tial fig­ures, Pro­fes­sor Dr. Wolf­gang Max Hugo Sachtler, who passed away on Jan­u­ary 8, 2017. Born on Novem­ber 8, 1924 in Delitzsch, Ger­many, Pro­fes­sor Sachtler received his PhD from the Tech­ni­cal Uni­ver­si­ty Braun­schweig (Brunswick), Ger­many in 1952, in the area of sur­face sci­ence. Upon grad­u­a­tion, he joined the Roy­al Dutch Shell Lab­o­ra­to­ry in Ams­ter­dam where he stayed until retire­ment as Direc­tor of Fun­da­men­tal Research in 1983. From 1963–84, he held a joint appoint­ment as Pro­fes­sor at the Nation­al Uni­ver­si­ty in Lei­den. He was par­tic­u­lar­ly known for his insight­ful appli­ca­tion of sur­face sci­ence con­cepts to catal­y­sis. While at Shell and Lei­den, he advanced the con­cept of rela­tion­ship between met­al-oxy­gen bond ener­gy and the selec­tiv­i­ty for par­tial oxi­da­tion prod­ucts in hydro­car­bon oxi­da­tions, ini­ti­at­ed insight­ful dis­cus­sions on whether mol­e­c­u­lar or atom­ic oxy­gen is nec­es­sary for selec­tive epox­i­da­tion of eth­yl­ene, applied ther­mo­dy­nam­ics and exper­i­men­tal mea­sure­ments to met­al alloys to account for the effects of the sur­face com­po­si­tions of alloys to their bind­ing of adsor­bates, and pro­mot­ed the descrip­tion of bimetal­lic catal­y­sis in terms of ensem­ble and lig­and effects.
Con­tin­ue read­ing

Nominations are open for the Herman Pines Award in Catalysis

Sponsored by UOP and the Catalysis Club of Chicago


Herman Pines

Her­man Pines

The Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go is solic­it­ing nom­i­na­tions for the Her­man Pines Award for out­stand­ing research in the field of catal­y­sis. Her­man Pines was an out­stand­ing research sci­en­tist, and his work rev­o­lu­tion­ized the gen­er­al under­stand­ing of organ­ic chem­istry, par­tic­u­lar­ly the chem­istry of hydro­car­bons inter­act­ing with strong acids. The Award in
his hon­or is co-spon­sored by UOP, where Her­man Pines began his indus­tri­al career in 1930 and amassed 145 US Patents, and by the Catal­y­sis Club of Chica­go of which
Her­man Pines was a found­ing mem­ber.
Con­tin­ue read­ing

Catal­y­sis Researcher is the recipient of the 2016 AIChE Wilhelm Award

ISRAEL E. WACHS, the G. Whit­ney Sny­der Pro­fes­sor of Chem­i­cal and Bio­mol­e­c­u­lar Engi­neer­ing at Lehigh Uni­ver­si­ty, is the recip­i­ent of the 2016 R. H. Wil­helm Award from the Amer­i­can Insti­tute of Chem­i­cal Engi­neers (AIChE). The award “rec­og­nizes an indi­vid­u­al’s sig­nif­i­cant and new con­tri­bu­tions in chem­i­cal reac­tion engi­neer­ing.” Wachs was rec­og­nized for “sem­i­nal con­tri­bu­tions towards devel­op­ment of inno­v­a­tive con­cepts for mol­e­c­u­lar chem­i­cal reac­tion engi­neer­ing of mixed oxide cat­alyzed reac­tions by estab­lish­ing fun­da­men­tal mol­e­c­u­lar cat­a­lyst struc­ture-activ­i­ty kinet­ic rela­tion­ships.”

The R. H. Wil­helm Award, spon­sored by Exxon­Mo­bil Research and Engi­neer­ing Com­pa­ny, is con­sid­ered the top award in chem­i­cal reac­tion engi­neer­ing giv­en by the AIChE. Wachs was for­mal­ly rec­og­nized for this award at the Awards Cer­e­mo­ny held at the AIChE Annu­al Meet­ing (Novem­ber 13–18, 2016) in San Fran­cis­co, CA.

More infor­ma­tion about the award can be found here: